TIFF + Venice announcements = trailers

This week had a lot of really great trailers (don’t even talk to me about the Spectre trailer last week though, that was just plainly disappointing), after the Venice and first TIFF announcements (also known to me as “DEMOLITION IS OPENING”), something I was hoping to write about but sadly didn’t get enough time to.

(I’m glad that I didn’t watch this live at like 3:30 am like when I watched the Oscar nominations, I probably would have squealed and woken up the neighbourhood. Of course I’m not going to TIFF, I’m just excited.)

One of my favourite parts of these next couple of months is weeks like this, where a whole bunch of trailers for movies I’m looking forward to drop. Because I really do love trailers. Even if they are pieces of marketing, designed to sell a film and have become a bit too much of an event, if they are well done, I’ll even watch them again long after the film has come out.

Some favourites…

The true story of how the Boston Globe uncovered the massive scandal of child molestation and cover-up within the local Catholic Archdiocese, shaking the entire Catholic Church to its core.

Look, my excitement for this is still somewhat restrained due to just how bad Thomas McCarthy’s previous film The Cobbler supposedly is (a fact I don’t want to confirm for myself), but hopefully that was to just pay the bills/buy a new couch (come on, it’s why Jessica Chastain did voice work for Madagascar 3, even though that film did wind up being pretty good) etc. Even if it’s a little overdramatic with the music, this trailer really does get me excited for the film. Plus, I’m a sucker for journalism dramas. Spotlight is out in Australia via. Hopscotch/eOne on November 19.

A modern-day story about the boundless love between mother and child; young Jack knows nothing of the world except for the single room in which he was born and raised.

The fact that this finally happened was by far one of the best surprises of my week. After I heard about it a while ago, I saw nothing else about it until it popped up in the Telefilm Canada guide from the Berlin Film Festival. Then it went quiet again, until it fell out of the sky and into the TIFF line-up earlier this week, before dropping a trailer and a poster.

I’ve been excited for this from when I heard about it. While I wasn’t a massive fan of Lenny Abrahamson’s previous film Frank, I am a very big fan of Brie Larson, particularly her work in the fantastic Short Term 12, which emerged as one of my favourite films of 2013. I’ve been obsessively watching this trailer since it came out (this is how you get me hooked, like with that hypnotic trailer for Partisan earlier this year that convinced me in two minutes to be excited for the film), it’s a sharp and harrowing minute-and-a-half that still gives me chills. Hopefully the film itself is just as riveting. Also, look out for Brie Larson to possibly break into the Best Actress race after the TIFF screening, a’la Julianne Moore last year. Room does not currently have Australian distribution. I’m really hoping that changes soon, because I really cannot wait for this.

A drama based on the experiences of Agu, a child soldier fighting in the civil war of an unnamed African country.

Oh, the wonders of Netflix. How often is it that you’ll be able to watch a film that plays at fall festivals that isn’t the likes of big studio films Sicario and The Martian the same day as the U.S.? Sure, I’d been interested in this since it was announced, but this is yet another harrowing minute-and-a-half teaser (that is largely a single scene) that gives away next to nothing in terms of plot, but gets me incredibly excited. And yep, you can watch it on October 16.

In 1970s South Boston, FBI Agent John Connolly (Edgerton) persuades Irish mobster Jimmy Bulger (Depp) to collaborate with the FBI in order to eliminate their common enemy: the Italian mob. The drama tells the story of this unholy alliance, which spiraled out of control, allowing Whitey to evade law enforcement while consolidating his power and becoming one of the most ruthless and dangerous gangsters in Boston history.

Just who isn’t in this, exactly?

Except this poster is annoying me. Yes, it’s all contract stuff as to where everyone gets placed, but please line the photos up with the names, thank you.

That guy from W.E. and The Newsroom! Johnny Depp with crazy hair! Peter Sarsgaard! Looks like they’re hoping this will be The Wolf of Wall Street of this year, rap-soundtracked trailer and all. This is a bit less interesting than the others, like with any violent drama from a studio these days, distributors  get nervous and throw a lot more of the plot out there  to try get people into the cinema (seriously, this feels like a truncated version of the film), but it’s still an interesting watch. Black Mass will be in Australian cinemas on October 15.

On another TIFF-related note, how cool is this Sicario poster? Can’t wait for September 18.

Leave a Reply

