Happy New Year!

tumblr_inline_nfo5baDWdb1scq1rx

I hope you all had an excellent holiday season, with family, friends, films, whatever makes you happy, really, that 2015 is treating you well so far, and it hasn’t been as hard to switch your brain over to ‘next year’ mode as it has been for me. I hope you all enjoyed my reflection on my favourite films (and TV show, of course) of 2014, and look out for maybe one more reflection post pretty soon. But now, since we’re nearly a week into the new year after this little break, I bet you’re all wondering what’s going to be happening this year, my second year of blogging on here. Much of the same will be happening on here – news, reviews, occasional think-pieces and ramblings, fangirling over Orphan Black – but I have some more ideas and features that I’m playing with in my head that I can’t wait to possibly make real this year. Basically, I’m really excited for all the possibilities for content in 2015, things I wanted to think about for a while before writing about. There’s still plenty of 2014 films yet to come out in Australia, and even more coming in 2015 that I can’t wait for.

The biggest feature though is a challenge. Yes, I’ve set myself the crazy task of watching a film a day in 2015. How am I choosing what to watch? Unless I have prior plans to watch a film on a day, I’ve put everything from every one of my watchlists into a box, which I’m emptying into a bag each day, shaking it up, and drawing one out at random. And yes, I’d love some suggestions, so please chime in with them at any time.

IMG_5360
Here is said box, featuring my crappy handwriting.

I’ve included shorts, to allow myself a very good chance of keeping it going once I go back to university at the end of February, because, lets face it, as much as I love films, watching features is sadly not at the top of my priorities some days when I’m studying, as much as I wish for it to be. You can track my progress here, as I won’t necessarily be posting about every film. Later today though, I’m posting my thoughts on the selection from 2 days ago – Peter Weir’s Dead Poets Society.

Thanks for sticking with me and reading my sometimes nonsensical writing while I tried to work this out, 2014 was certainly a year of great, sometimes sad, change, but I can’t help but feel its put me in a really good place for this year. I hope you enjoy 2015 on Monumental Pictures, and stayed tuned for more soon!

Love Ella

Leave a Reply

