“Hold onto that feeling.” – Preparing for the end of Glee

From phenomenon to Friday night death slot in 6 years (yep, 6 years), the end of Glee is nigh. The Hollywood Reporter today reports that the final, 13 episode season of the musical comedy once adored by critics and audiences alike will return on January 9 at 8pm, before moving to 9pm on January 16.

Every time an announcement like this is made, I feel a twinge of nostalgia and sadness, despite the fact I stopped paying attention to the show back in 2012. My feelings regarding the show, which I once lived for but came to lose interest in, are complicated. For the past year or so, since star Cory Monteith passed away, I’ve been trying to put together my thoughts on how the titanic ways the show as a whole has impacted and defined me for a long time, to most likely publish on the day of the last episode. Here’s an extract:

“On May 20, 2009, I would watch the very first episode on the first day Glee was in the world. At this time, it was just another TV show, except it had songs, starred the girl from Spring Awakening, and Kristin Chenoweth was going to be on it, but little did I know that this day would end up being one of the most defining of my life.

It’s strange for me when I think that. I mean…it’s a TV show! It’s characters you catch up with once a week for an hour, and then you all go back to your lives off screen. However, there was something in this offbeat show about a band of misfits that loved music that pulled me in, hard and fast. May 20 came and went. I watched that pilot episode nearly daily until that magical day in September where the show would begin properly, and I would be bestowed with a new adventure.”

Leave a Reply

