I think I may have found my favourite score of the year…

Fotor01021201449

…and I don’t even know when I will see the film.

Back in 2012, I was a biggg fan of Celine Sciamma’s delicate, heartbreaking portrait of childhood innocence and tranquility, Tomboy. Naturally, I’m ecstatic for her next feature, which has gotten a slew of reviews from Cannes and Toronto festivals that make me salivate (99 Metacritic score?!). The story revolves around 16 year-old Marieme, whose life changes after meeting a band of new girls, seeing friendship as the way out of her dead-end community. There’s reports of an incredibly epic dance/lipsynching scene to Rhianna’s Diamonds that, frankly, makes me wonder how the hell this film wasn’t a thing already. Sounds magical, to be honest.

Today, the score dropped online, and I have to say, is probably my favourite of the year so far, inching out Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross’s biting Gone Girl work that I’ve listened to on repeat. This is so darn atmospheric, basically buzzing with energy. Palace Films have Girlhood lined up for a release next year. I needed to see it yesterday.

Leave a Reply

