What’s on this week?

Fotor01019152010

Apologies for the slackness (don’t even think that’s a word, but forgive me)/lack of updates, so much for sticking to a writing schedule…. End of year = assignment writing/study = keeping people together = running up a massive hill at 4:30pm on a Friday because all you want to do is GO HOME = you probably get it. Anyways, this week is the FINAL WEEK of my first year of uni. Don’t even ask me where its gone, I won’t be able to tell you. I spend my life feeling like Patricia Arquette’s character in Boyhood, to be honest (“I thought there would be more”). Speaking of Boyhood, if you STILL haven’t seen it, WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING HERE, GO SEE IT RIGHT NOW PLEASE.

Anyway, onwards.

End of semester, in addition to breaking promises with your blog and being unable to write the lovely ideas you have (think piece on Lea Seydoux being cast in a Bond film, C.R.A.Z.Y. and Laurence Anyways Scene Saturdays. Don’t worry, they’ll be here eventually), it also means not as time to watch films at home. But, after this week, that’s all going to change. Yay! And of course, we’re crawling out of that slump into the most wonderful time of year where all the goooood films come thick and fast (although, I have to say, it’s a bit later this year). Yippee!

Ahead is what I plan to watch this week. Hopefully this will help me keep my promises to myself.

IN THE CINEMA

Incompresa (Asia Argento, 2014)

At last, one of my most anticipated films out of Cannes is making its way here. If you’ve looked at my Twitter since May, you’ll see that I’ve been hoping that someone picks it up here or it plays at a festival ever since its premiere. It seems that dreams come true, because tonight I’m seeing it at the Italian Film Festival! As you can probably tell, I’m excited. It’s the semi-autobiographical story of Argento’s turbulent childhood, from what I can gather, and looks extremely Sofia Coppola-esque. Look out for my reaction on Twitter, and then a review this Wednesday.

This is Where I Leave You (Shawn Levy, 2014)

I have a pretty funny/embarrassing story about me trying to read this novel when I was in year 9, but that’s for another time. Who wouldn’t be interested in this – Tina Fey, Rose Byrne, Kathryn Hahn, and Adam Driver all in a film together? Sign me up. It looks entertaining, and honestly, with the cast involved, and, from the trailer, the situations that transpire, it would be hard not to be.

Love, Rosie (Christian Ditter, 2014)

This wasn’t even on my radar, I was definitely skipping it, until yesterday, when I watched the trailer and decided that it actually looks pretty cute and the kind of perfect film to just switch off for 90 mins and enjoy. Since I only decided to see it this week yesterday, I know pretty much nothing about it, except Lily Collins and the guy from The Riot Club looking like they just need to get together. Sounds like the perfect film for the final week of uni, to be honest.

AT HOME

Cairo Time (Ruba Nadda, 2010)

I love Patricia Clarkson, she’s one of my favourite actors and I’ll watch anything she puts her name on. I’d heard of this for a while, but then I saw Luc Montpellier, who very memorably shot the incredible films Take This Waltz and Away from Her, is the cinematographer. Well, I was sold. Looks like Lost in Translation: Egypt with more romance.

M. Hulot’s Holiday (Jacques Tati, 1953)

Jacques Tati, with his near-wordless, slapstick style is one of the most unique filmmakers I’ve encountered, and is one of my favourite directors. I’ve been finding his films at the library gradually, and watching each one has been like discovering a toy shop down an alleyway – full of surprises and wonders hidden from the rest of the world. It’ll be wonderful to watch how the character of Hulot originated. I’m hoping I get the boxset of all his films soon so I can see the final two that were previously unavailable here – Parade and Traffic. 

A Long Way Down (Pascal Chaumeil, 2014)

Been looking forward to this. It got a pretty good bashing at Berlin, sadly, but, honestly, it just looks like a nice movie…as much as a film where the main characters meet while contemplating suicide can be. We’ll see how that goes. Nice movies have a good place, and I love them for it. Plus, Rosamund Pike + Nick Hornby in some way again = win.

Inch’Allah (Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette, 2013)

Apart from the mind-blowingly talented, out of this world Tatiana Maslany, the amazing show Orphan Black has introduced me to another excellent actor that I have promptly fallen in love with/become in complete awe of – Evelyne Brochu. Absolutely wonderful in Cafe de Flore, harnessing a fragility but fierce humanity and on Orphan Black, Evelyne is fast becoming one of my favourite actors, and I’m trying to see as much of her work as I possibly can as soon as I can (next up: Polytechnique). I’ve heard of this film, the story of a young, Canadian doctor living in Israel and working in Palestine, stuck between two different worlds only kilometres apart before – I remember seeing clips from it in the Israeli Film Festival trailer last year.

What are you watching this week?

2 thoughts on “What’s on this week?

  1. I’m not going to lie… I’m actually excited for Love, Rosie 😛 I read the book, and it was a bit trashy (and very frustratingly long) – but the film actually looks like a revamp and hopefully a better version of it. Plus, Lily Collins and Sam Claflin…. 🙂 Good luck with your last week of uni! x

Leave a Reply

